What I read this January?

First of all, a very happy new year to everyone. 🙂 Happy 2016.

So, for the first week of this month, I was kind of busy with exams, travelling and life (basically). I set my reading goal to 50 books this year (on goodreads of course). This is going to be a very challenging and tough year as far as my graduation is concerned (final year yeyy). So, 50 is the goal. Today is 16th January, 2016 and I have read two books so far.

  • DUMPLIN’ BY JULIE MURPHY

This book, I tell you, is one of those books which really touched my heart in so many ways. It was splendid, beautiful and amazingly written. Julie Murphy is my new favourite author after J.K Rowling and John Green. I cannot explain how I felt (amazing) but I am sure you will understand when you will read it.

This book revolves around a curvy girl called ‘Willowdean Dickson’ who is  shamed for her body but she doesn’t get affected that much because she is that kind of girl who basically doesn’t give any damn. But a new person comes into her life (totally unexpected) and changes the way she thinks about her body. She feels exposed and totally vulnerable but she stands up and faces everything with confidence. She also attracts a few followers along the way (unknowingly). The chemistry between Bo and Willow is explained beautifully. And I loved the character ‘Mitch’. I started to hate Willow’s best friend and mother after a few hundred pages but it turned out okay in the end. I loved the book so much. The feelings, when one is shamed, were totally the same as I feel when I am shamed for my body. Every kind of body shaming is unacceptable and is not better than any other. The only thing that differs is the “names” they call you.

No one is perfect. Willowdean was not perfect. I am not. You are not. But we are all beautiful in our own way.

I rate it 5 stars out of 5.

Screenshot_2016-01-16-13-47-54-1

“I guess sometimes the perfection we perceive in others is made up of a whole bunch of imperfections, because some days the damn dress just won’t zip.” `~ Julie Murphy

  • The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Screenshot_2016-01-16-13-51-15-1

This book, on the other hand, disappointed me. I read it because a friend of mine recommended it to me. I really thought it will be funny and entertaining but it was rather funny in a stupid way. I really did not like it.

The story revolves around the protagonist a.k.a shopaholic a.k.a Rebecca Bloomwood who is crazy about shopping. And by crazy, I mean inanely crazy. I really thought it will get better after the first hundred pages but it did not. I was determined to finish it, so, I kept on reading. It took 16 chapters for me to get hooked. (My brain got fuzzy) The story started to sound normal and readable after  that because finally Rebecca starts to realise what the real deal was.

There was a point where I started to hate the protagonist for being so stupid. I don’t know if that is what the author wanted. Plus, I really hated the lack of respect for quite a simple and sweet character called ‘Tarquin’. The description was very rude.

It was not my kind of book at all. I will not recommended it to anyone. I rate it 2 stars out of 5. (I can rate it 3 because the last few chapters were fine)

It is between a 2 and a 3.

Happy reading guys 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

