BOOK REVIEW : FANGIRL BY RAINBOW ROWELL

To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.

I thought I would never do a review for this book because it felt like it is just too personal. It felt like sharing a part of myself to the whole world. Revealing something of mine. But I think it is necessary on my part that I recommend my fellow bookworms to take the same wonderful ride, that is, the wonderful fun filled, heart warming ride through the book “Fangirl”.

To start with the review, I could not find a single flaw in the book. Not a single one. The protagonist, Cath, was so beautifully portrayed, so naturally written that I couldn’t help myself from recognising myself in her. Throughout the book, every line about Cath, her every dialogue was so relatable. I am an introvert with social anxiety too just like her and I was made to believe by so many people, all these years, that I am a creep. But Cath made me realise that it is okay. It is okay to be what you are.

Secondly, Levi. That character was so much like my best friend. Always smiling and smiling at everyone. Brightening up everyone’s day. Spreading positivity everywhere, in every one’s lives. Levi made me realise that it is okay to be the bright light in a bunch of dark souls. Levi made me realise that I should learn to accept people like him. That I should learn to let them be and not act like a misanthrope around them.

….you’re nice to everybody. You give away nice like it doesn’t cost you anything.”

Levi laughed. “It doesn’t cost me anything. It’s not like smiling at strangers exhausts my overall supply.”

What I loved about the book is the fanfiction Cath wrote and how she preferred the fictional world over the real one. Rainbow Rowell had confessed that she wrote the story based upon her own craze for Harry Potter during her adult life and how she would have reacted to it in her teenage with an online fandom community. I, so deeply felt connected to it because I am a huge potterhead and also an amateur online writer and I can understand the relief and the satisfaction one gets when people read that story and leave their own precious comments down. 

  • Favorite characters : Arthur, Cath, Levi.
  • Despised characters: 
  1. Laura, because she ran away from her responsibility and did not handle it very well when given the second chance, either.
  2. Nick. Jerk.

I loved Cath’s twin Wren too because I can understand how one expects freedom after high school and to do everything that has “mystery” written all over it. But at the end of the day, you end up being just what you are and that is what matters.

And lastly, the romance between Levi and Cath. It was so darn good. So well written. They made me smile every damn time they were together. Definitely my favorite book couple. And Levi is my new add-on to the list of my fictional boyfriends.

I will suggest this book to every fangirl and fanboy out there because I swear it is about you and written for you. 

Precious moment : When Cath and Wren go to the midnight book release and cry after receiving the final book of their favorite fictional series knowing that it is all over.

I loved this book way too much and I will give it a thousand million stars if I could.

I hate to think that people might be afraid to say something beautiful just because they’re worried about apostrophes. ~ Rainbow Rowell

____

Leave a Reply

