Book Review of “The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo” By Amy Schumer

Description :

The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays. 
In The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy mines her past for stories about her teenage years, her family, relationships, and sex and shares the experiences that have shaped who she is – a woman with the courage to bare her soul to stand up for what she believes in, all while making us laugh.
Ranging from the raucous to the romantic, the heartfelt to the harrowing, this highly entertaining and universally appealing collection is the literary equivalent of a night out with your best friends – an unforgettable and fun adventure that you wish could last forever. Whether she’s experiencing lust-at-first-sight while in the airport security line, sharing her own views on love and marriage, admitting to being an introvert, or discovering her cross-fit instructor’s secret bad habit, Amy Schumer proves to be a bighearted, brave, and thoughtful storyteller that will leave you nodding your head in recognition, laughing out loud, and sobbing uncontrollably – but only because it’s over.

Review:

First of all, I picked this book up solely because of J.K Rowling’s review on Twitter which she had summed up in one line saying how she had never laughed out so hard reading a book. That was enough for me to move this book from my wishlist to my shopping cart on amazon. And I am glad I did.

I had heard about Amy Schumer before because of whatever was going on during the U.S elections. I have never really watched any of her shows or movies but after reading this book, I think that is what I am going to do. I think she is a wonderful woman and honest to top it all.

This book was less of an autobiography and more of an honest rant by her. One thing she teaches us in this book is how you can change your way of living with mere confidence. Enough confidence to stay beautiful. Not necessarily for others but for yourself. Enough confidence to speak the truth.Enough confidence to be out there and whip away the double standards. 

This book talks about her journey of becoming whoever she is today. Not just professionally but also mentally as a person. She boldly tells us about EVERYTHING. When I say everything, it is literally EVERY. THING. She is not afraid to talk about her downfalls. She is not afraid to talk about her mistakes. She is not afraid to talk about how flawed her parents are. All our parents are. She is not afraid to talk about her innermost fears and feelings. Even though she has shadowed it all behind her jokes and nuances, one could feel how much human she is too.

She has also taught me how to roast someone through this book. And I think all she is does is, she speaks the truth. And nothing is harsher than the truth. And some people deserve to know that truth. 

She explains how many mistakes she had made in her past including her lower back tattoo. This had a personal effect on me because I got my tattoos (yes, you read it right. TATTOOS. NOT A TATTOO. I got three of them all at once when I was 20) and I regret them since then. Actually, I have been made to regret them by being made fun of and by making me feel humiliated of how oddly permanent those are. Hey I knew that! That is why I got them in first place. She has taught me to feel good about myself even though I am deeply flawed. She has taught me to feel beautiful even though others don’t necessarily agree. 

To sum it all up, I think Amy Schumer is all I needed to make me understand that some people are full of crap and they deserve nothing other than pure shit and some people are nice, give them a good time. And that it is okay to enjoy your promiscuity.

If you haven’t grabbed this book yet and are having questions about it, stop yourself and buy it. I rate it 4 stars out of 5.

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you so much. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

