Review of Illuminae Files #1 by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Nothing ceases to exist. Energy does not perish, it merely changes forms. The ones you love, the ones you lose, they still exist as long as the cosmos does.

Description:

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

Review:
My first actual novel of 2017, Illuminae has illuminated the depths of my bookworm “need hole”. Haha. It sounds so wrong. This book is one book which I did not want to end. I actually stopped reading it 20 pages from the end. I DID NOT WANT IT TO END. 

The plot was amazing. The characterisation was brilliant. At one point, my mind was numb. My heart was broken. I felt like I was there. 

Now, coming to individual characters, I would say I loved Ezra Mason so so much. I was just 50 pages into the book and I knew I am going to rate this book 5 stars and that Ez is going to be my favorite characters. The character was charming, loving and brave. 

Kady Grant’s character was so amazingly written. So analytical. So brilliant. And the abilities she has. That confidence. As the artificial intelligence says that she is young and fearless and full of hope. And her undying love for Ezra was amazingly portrayed.

AIDAN was something/someone I loved, hated, despised way too much and admired too. It was something which kept the story going with full interest and excitement. AIDAN was the reason this story existed. And weirdly so, I shipped AIDAN and Kady. So weird. And creepy. Okay. Whatever. Lel.

Another character I could not help falling in love with was Zhang Byron. Analytical. A good friend. The best friend one can have. And still a brave comrade. His story was also very carefully and meticulously written. 

A character from Ez’s side. A friend who thought of him till the end. A friend who was brave and encouraging. A friend nonetheless was James McNulty. I loved Jimmy a lot too.

Characters I hated for the right reasons: Leanne Frobisher (though, we don’t see much of her, the amount we see is enough to despise her), General Torrence and LINCOLN, ofcourse.

The scientific elements in the book were absolutely mind blowing and I think no one else could have made this book as captivating as it is. Thank you Amie and Jay for writing this book.

I can’t wait to read Gemina (Illuminae Files #2). 

As you know by now, I rate this book 5/5 stars. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tiana says:

    I just got this book in my hands this month and I am so excited to read it! It seems like it’s going to be an amazing one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It will be. And Happy reading. xD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

